Delete Your MacBook and Reset to Factory Defaults

Delete Your MacBook and Reset to Factory Defaults

Last Updated on July 14, 2021 by Macsoftbox

Are you sure you want to remove all your personal information from that Mac before selling it? Better double-checking.

Tempted by a new MacBook M1? Our tests of the M1 machines show a significant increase in performance and battery life compared to their Intel-based predecessors. Plus, the M1 MacBook Air has a fanless design for blissfully quiet operation. And maybe you can make some money selling your old Mac to help pay for the cost of a new MacBook M1. But before doing so, you have to migrate your data to your new Mac and clean the old one.

Whether you give your Mac to a friend or family member, recycle it, or donate it to an organization, you want to remove your personal information and files before sharing. This is one security measure you don’t want to bypass – your Mac’s hard drive is full of sensitive information that you don’t want to be available, even if you trust the next owner of your laptop. There is always the possibility that malicious code enters and reveals your personal information.

Here I will show you how to remove all traces of your data and restore your old Mac to factory settings. This story is periodically updated.

Log out of your accounts

After moving your data to your new Mac or making a final backup To preserve your data, it is time to remove all traces of you from the machine. You must first log out of all your accounts. Several years ago, this was done with iTunes, but now you have to do it individually. sign of three applications: music, TV, and books. Open any of these applications and go to Account> Authorizations> Disable this computer. You need to enter your Apple ID and password, then hit the Unmark button.

Next, you need to disable Find My Mac and sign out of iCloud. Go to System Settings> Apple ID, click on iCloud on the left panel and then deselect Find my Mac. Then click on Overview on the left panel and then click on the Sign out button.

Finally, you must log out of messages. Open the Messages app, go to Messaging> Settings, click iMessage, and then click Sign Out.

Disconnect Bluetooth

If you’re handing over your old Mac to your child or anyone else in your house, it’s a good idea to disconnect all Bluetooth devices so the mouse or keyboard controls the new Mac and doesn’t disturb the old one. Go to System Settings> Bluetooth, hover your mouse over the device you want to disconnect, click the X button to the right of its name, and then click Delete.

Restore NVRAM

NVRAM is the memory where your Mac stores the settings it needs before loading MacOS: things like screen resolution, time zone, volume level, and boot disk selection. Sometimes these files can get corrupted, so give the next owner of your Mac a fresh start by resetting NVRAM. To do this, turn off your Mac, then turn it on and immediately press and hold four keys together: Option, Command, P, and R. You can release the buttons after about 20 seconds. That’s all! Your Mac’s NVRAM has been reset.

Factory Reset

You need to bring your MacBook into Reset Mode to erase all its data and reinstall macOS. To enter recovery mode on an Intel-based Mac, restart it and immediately hold down Command-R. You can release the keys when you see the Apple logo.

(If you’re already setting up an M1-based Mac, rebooting into recovery mode will be a bit different. Just press and hold the power button until you see the boot options window and then click an option and Continue to access the bar of tools.)

Reset macOS

Then you will see the macOS utility window. Select Disk Utility, click Continue and select your startup disk; Unless you rename it, it is probably labeled Macintosh HD or something similar. Then click Erase at the top of the Disk Utility window and fill in these two fields:

  1. Name: Choose a name for the new volume. Why not go for the tried and true? Macintosh HD?
  2. Format: Select APFS.

If you’re trying to sell an older Mac that has a mechanical hard drive instead of an SSD, choose Mac OS Extended for format.

Then click Delete Volume Group and once Disk Utility has done its work, quit Disk Utility. (If you don’t see the Delete Volume Group button in the lower-left corner, click Delete in the lower-right corner instead.)

You should return to the macOS utility window. (If not, restart your Mac and hold Command-R as it restarts.) Select the macOS utility window Reinstall macOS and follow the instructions to install the operating system. Once macOS has been reinstalled, you will be greeted by the setup wizard and you can shut down and shut down your Mac. You are now ready for a fresh start with the next owner.